Skip to content

Repentance

January 21, 2012

True repentance what does that mean? As my Pastor says it means that you are going in one direction and you stop, turn 180 degrees and start moving in the other direction. Psalms 51 is a prayer of repentance and has helped me understand God’s love for us as His children. He wants to see us do right not because we can “earn” our way to heaven but so we live in a way the glorifies His name. This Psalm was written by King David at a time in his life when he had committed adultery and set up Bathsheba”s husband  to be murdered in a war. It speaks to me that even Bible heroes have done some pretty horrific things in their life but it does not mean that we cannot turn away from our evil ways. Yes, there is always consequences of sin….in Davids case God did not allow him to build the First Temple that he had longed to build to honor God….but that does not mean God does not love us or that He has left us in some way. Us as human beings have dealt with rejection or people that maybe gave up on us way to early but that is not how God operates. He loves us no matter what we do as long as we can come to him with a repentant heart and trust in His ways.

Thank you Father for never giving up on me and thank you for loving me as I am.

He has seen me grow from baby to a man and although there have been plenty of hardships in my life I never used them as an excuse because He saw me through. I can sit here today and honestly say I am the man I am today because of the things I have endured in my life. In the last few years I finally started to understand what it means to trust God with my entire life not just what I want him to be a part of and the outcome has been awesome to say the least. If you struggle with that part of your Christian walk today I promise you just give it the Good Lord and He will lead your life in a way you never thought imaginable.

There will be times where we “mess up” as there was only one perfect Man who has ever walked this earth and He was crucified for our sins so don’t be scared it will be ok. The Lord is with each and everyone of us and he understands the pressures and fears we have but He is standing there with an open hand to lead us where we never thought imaginable in spite of our evil ways. All He asks is that we invite him in and repent of our sins.

Psalm 51

For the choir director: A psalm of David, regarding the time Nathan the prophet came to him after David had committed adultery with Bathsheba.

1 Have mercy on me, O God,
because of your unfailing love.
Because of your great compassion,
blot out the stain of my sins.
2 Wash me clean from my guilt.
Purify me from my sin.
3 For I recognize my rebellion;
it haunts me day and night.
4 Against you, and you alone, have I sinned;
I have done what is evil in your sight.
You will be proved right in what you say,
and your judgment against me is just.[a]
5 For I was born a sinner—
yes, from the moment my mother conceived me.
6 But you desire honesty from the womb,[b]
teaching me wisdom even there.

7 Purify me from my sins,[c] and I will be clean;
wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.
8 Oh, give me back my joy again;
you have broken me—
now let me rejoice.
9 Don’t keep looking at my sins.
Remove the stain of my guilt.
10 Create in me a clean heart, O God.
Renew a loyal spirit within me.
11 Do not banish me from your presence,
and don’t take your Holy Spirit[d] from me.

12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
and make me willing to obey you.
13 Then I will teach your ways to rebels,
and they will return to you.
14 Forgive me for shedding blood, O God who saves;
then I will joyfully sing of your forgiveness.
15 Unseal my lips, O Lord,
that my mouth may praise you.

16 You do not desire a sacrifice, or I would offer one.
You do not want a burnt offering.
17 The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit.
You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.
18 Look with favor on Zion and help her;
rebuild the walls of Jerusalem.
19 Then you will be pleased with sacrifices offered in the right spirit—
with burnt offerings and whole burnt offerings.
Then bulls will again be sacrificed on your altar.

From → Christian

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

